top of page

Historic Preservation Awards: Call for Nominations

Deadline: March 31, 2023

It’s time to recognize the people and projects preserving the Oil Region’s history through the Historic Preservation Awards.

The Oil Region Alliance is accepting nominations now through March 31.

“These awards are a celebration of building preservation, education, and heritage efforts,” said event organizer Jennifer Burden, Oil Region Alliance Heritage Program Manager. “Every year we look forward to seeing what great work is happening in the region and shining a spotlight on it.”

The Oil Region Historic Preservation Awards is part of the ORA’s celebration of Historic Preservation Month, held each May. The program recognizes appropriate preservation, restoration, and rehabilitation projects, as well as individuals and groups committed to historic preservation. It creates an advocacy for historic preservation and enhances a regional historic preservation ethic within the Oil Region National Heritage Area.

The region includes all of Venango County, the Borough of Hydetown, the City of Titusville, and Oil Creek Township in Crawford County.

Any person or group may submit a nomination for a Historic Preservation Award. Eligible structures must be within the Oil Region and at least 50 years old. Eligible projects include interior and exterior work in public buildings and exterior work in privately owned buildings. Once an individual or project has received an award, it is not eligible again for another five years.

Nomination forms and lists of past winners are available at the Historic Preservation Awards page and from the button below.

Digital “Before & After” photographs are required with each nomination. They can be sent, noting “Historic Preservation” in the subject line. Photographs help illustrate the nature and impact of the project work to the Awards judges and will be incorporated into the awards ceremony. Up to ten photos of the nominated project may be submitted.

Nominations must be submitted by Friday, March 31 to or Oil Region Alliance of Business, Industry & Tourism at 217 Elm St., Oil City, PA 16301.

The awards ceremony will take place Thursday, May 18 at Christ Episcopal Church in Oil City.

The evening will begin with hors d’oeuvres at 6 p.m., a tour of the building/sanctuary at 6:45 p.m., and the awards ceremony at 7 p.m. There is no cost to attend the award ceremony, but pre-registration is appreciated. E-mail to register.

Sponsors of the Historic Preservation Awards are the Crawford County Historical Society, Franklin Preservation Association, Friends of Drake Well, Inc., Heritage Society of Oil City, Oil City Main Street Program, Oil Region Alliance, Titusville Historical Society, Titusville Renaissance, Inc., Venango County Historical Society, and the Venango Museum of Art, Science & Industry.

The program has presented more than 150 awards since 1997.

Please contact Burden at or 814-677-3152 x 116 for more information.

2 views0 comments


bottom of page